"COAS Trophy 2067" Kicks Off

1. Chief of the Army Staff (COAS), General Chhatra Man Singh Gurung inaugurated the "COAS Trophy 2067" amidst a ceremony held at the Army Headquarters premises on 5 December 2010. 2. Director General of Military Training, Major General Anil Jung Thapa had delivered an opening speech on the occasion. Players of the participating teams had marched past during the ceremony. 3. COAS, General Gurung distributed prizes and certificates to the winners of athletics events held on the day. Private Rupa Khadka of Mid Division Headquarters won gold medal in the women's 100 meters. Corporal Sujata Pradhan of Supporting Arms and Western Division Headquarters' Lieutenant Shanti Acharya stood second and third respectively. 4. Similarly, Private Santa Kumar Budha of Special Forces, Western Division Headquarters' Private Gajendra Bogati and Lance Corporal Mukti Khadka secured top three spots in the men's 400 meters. Likewise, Private Hari Kumar Rimal of Special Forces won gold medal in the men's 1500 meters. His teammate Lance Corporal Kalyan Baniya took silver and Mid Division Headquarters' Private Motilal Chaudhary won bronze. 5. Total of eight teams, one each from six Division Headquarters, Supporting Arms and Special Forces are participating in athletics, football, volleyball and basketball. The "COAS Trophy" will be awarded to the winning team on the Army Day. 6. Former COASs, Inspector Generals of Armed Police Force and Nepal Police, serving general officers and officers of the Nepal Army, high ranking government officials and delegates from National Sports Council also attended the ceremony.