COAS Open Marathon-2018 Concludes

COAS Open Marathon-2018 Concludes

With the theme "UNITED WE STAND-COME STAND WITH US", COAS Open Marathone-2018 concluded on February 10, 2018 at Army Pavillion, Tundikhel. Chief of the Army STaff (COAS) General Rajendra Chhetri graced the opening ceremony as the chief guest. The event organized on the occasion of Maha-Shivaratri and Army Day , featured 12 categories including full marathon (42.195km) for male, open half marathon (21 km) for male and female, half marathon (21 km) for male and female above 45 years age category, 10km run for military attache and diplomats in male and female category, 10km run for Nepali Army (NA) officers in male and female category, 5km race for school boys’ and girls’ and 5km walkathon for civil servant, NA, Nepal police, APF and others.

In 5km school boys' category, Suresh Thapa Magar and Ishwor Basnet of Sainik Awashiya Mahabidhyalaya Sallaghari and Krishna Tamang of Samjhana Academy were the top three finishers respectively, while Kajal Bista of Mega National College, Sunita Shrestha of Bijeshwori Gyan Mandir and Swoyechha Balami of Bijeshwori Gyan Mandir Sainik Mahabidhyalaya came first, second and third respectively in school girls' category.

In 10km race for military attaché and diplomats in male category, Simon Castro Wilrich and Aaron Durham of British Embassy and Xu Sirui of Chinese Embassy claimed top three spots respectively. Likewise, Lieutenant Rakesh Nepali, Captain Bhupal Adhikary and Major Madhu Thapa finished in top three respectively among army officers in male category, while Lieutenant Karishma Pradhan Kumal, Captain Meena Kumari Basnet and Lieutenant Rekha Adhikary took the honours in female category.

In open half marathon for male category, Pte. Gajendra Rai, Pte. Ramji Basnet and Sgt. Kalyan Baniya of NA clinched the top three positions respectively, while L/Cpl. Bishwo Rupa Buda and L/Cpl. Resu Basnet of NA and Bindra Dhanke Shrestha of APF secured top three positions respectively in female section. Ms. Rita Chhetri, President Nepali Army Wives Association (NAWA), handed over a replica key of a scoter to L/Cpl. Bishwo Rupa Buda. Top three athletes in open half marathon received Rs 25,000, 15,000 and 10,000 respectively. Similarly, in half marathon for male above 45 years category, Bhim Bahadur Gurung, Kapil Bhatta and Darin Bahadur Khadka grabbed the top three positions and received Rs 15,000 Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively.

Cpl. Krishna Basnet of NA clocked two hours 22 minutes and 52 second to complete the open full marathon in first position while Gopi Chandra Parki of APF grabbed second position with the timing of two hours 25 minutes and 37 seconds. Cpl. Rajan Khatri of NA clocked two hours 29 minutes and 12 seconds to finish third. COAS Gen Rajendra Chhetri awarded a cheque board of Rs. 1,00,000 and replica key of 160cc Pulsar Motorcycle sponsored by Hansraj Hulaschand & Company Limited to Cpl. Krishna Basnet, the winner of the open full marathon, Rs 50,000 to the first runner-up Gopi Chandra Parki and Rs 25,000 to the second runner-up Cpl. Rajan Khatri.

During the prize distribution ceremony, COAS Gen Chhetri also felicitated four former Olympians including three athletes and one weightlifter.

Secretaries of Government of Nepal, the chairman of Nepal Olympic Committee, Member Secretary of National Sports Council, general officers of NA, high ranking officials of sister security organizations, media personnel, officers of NA and students among others were present during the event.