"COAS 7th International Women's Football Tournament" Wraps-Off

"COAS 7th International Women's Football Tournament 2076" concluded at Nepali Army (NA) Football Ground on December 25, 2019. Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) women's football team became the champion by defeating the Tribhuvan Army Club women's football team by 2-0 goal in the finals.

COAS Gen Purna Chandra Thapa, the Chief Guest of the closing ceremony, awarded the championship trophy, medals and certificates to the winners. The champions, APF women's football team, bagged three lakhs rupees (NPR 3,00,000), 1st runners up Tribhuvan Army Club women's football team received one lakh fifty thousand rupees (NPR 1,50,000) and two semi-finalists, Bhutan women's football team and Nepal Police women's football team, received fifty thousand rupees (NPR 50,000) each.

Sabitra Bhandari and Anjila Subba of APF women's football team were adjudged as the best defender and the best goalkeeper respectively. Pooja Rana Magar of TAC women's football team and Pema Choden Tshering of Bhutan women's football team were declared as the best midfielder and the best defender respectively. Likewise, Janak Singh of APF women's football team was declared as the best coach. The best players in each category (Goalkeeper, Defender, Striker and Midfielder) and the best coach of the tournament were awarded with ten thousand rupees each. Bimala B.Ka. of TAC women's football team was judged the emerging women football player of Nepali Army and received a cash prize of twenty-five thousand (NPR 25,000) sponsored by Nepali Army Wives Association (NAWA). Deepa Rai of TAC women's football team was awarded a scooter for being the most valuable player (MVP) of the tournament.

The international level football competition, organized by Nepali Army, in co-operation with All Nepal Football Association (ANFA), started on December 15, 2019. Altogether, eight teams participated the competition including three departmental teams (Tribhuvan Army Club women's football team, Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) women's football team, Nepal Police Club (NPC) women's football team), three provincial teams (Province No. 1 women's football team, Province No. 2 women's football team, Province No. 5 women's football team) and two international visiting teams (one each from Bhutan and India).

President of Nepal Olympic Committee Honorable Mr. Jeevan Ram Shrestha, Secretary of Ministry of Youth and Sports Mr. Ram Prashad Thapaliya, former Chief of the Army Staffs of NA, President of All Nepal Football Association (ANFA), general officers of the NA, Inspector General of APF, high ranking officials of Nepal Police & National Investigation Department (NID), officials from ANFA, representative of NAWA, officers and other ranks of NA, and the media personnel along with football lovers were present during the closing ceremony.