Unity Journal Unveiling Ceremony Held

Unity Journal Unveiling Ceremony Held

Honorable Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of Defence Mr. Ishwar Pokhrel unveiled the "Unity Journal" Volume I amidst an unveiling ceremony held at Nepali Army (NA) auditorium on February 20, 2020.

On the occasion, honorable Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of Defence Mr. Pokhrel, the chief guest of the ceremony, awarded cash prizes and certificates to the best articles of “Unity Journal″ Volume I. Bihari Krishna Shrestha's 'Nationalism and national unity in multi-ethnic Nepal: Adopting integrative approach for managing national affairs' bagged the first prize to receive NRs. 2,00,000 (Two Lac). Likewise, Pashupati Nepal's 'Mainstreaming of climate change risks security through mitigation and adaptation strategies in Nepal' received NRs. 1,00,000 (One Lac) and Geja Sharma Wagle's 'Geopolitical rivalry of global powers and its implications in Nepal received NRs. 50,000 (Fifty Thousand) for being second & third respectively. The chief guest also felicitated the editorial board and jury members with certificates and token of appreciation for putting on hard work in making the journal a success.

Similarly, the Chief of the Army Staff (COAS) General Purna Chandra Thapa awarded the certificates, token of appreciation and a cash prize of NRs. 10,000 (Ten Thousand) to each of the 29 articles published in the Journal. The research-based annual publication of the Nepali Army, the first of its kind, includes 32 best articles out of 97 received articles.

In the backdrop of inception of National Defense University (NDU), the annual publication of NA presents articles both in Nepali and English under the selected five areas: national security and development; nationality and national unity; the importance of the geo-strategic position of Nepal; civil-military relation; military diplomacy.

Present on the Unveiling Ceremony were Rt. Hon. President's security adviser, chancellor & vice-chancellor of universities and academies, professors, defence secretary, former COAS's of NA, Chief of General Staff (CGS), Chief of Staff (COS), heads of sister security organizations, serving and former general officers and officers of NA, participants and media personnel among others.