Army domination continues

Pte. Krishna Basnet of Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) won the sixth Kathmandu Real Marathon held on October 13, 2012. Krishna clocked the 42.195 km race with timing of 2:29.40 minutes for his maiden national marathon title. Amongst the Top Ten finishes, eight were bagged by the Army men, once again demonstrating their dominance in the event. Lance Corporal Leter Singh Khatri and Corporal Uttam Khatri, also from TAC, finished second and third with timing of 2:31:32 and 2:33:06 respectively. The winner of the previous edition, Lt. Rajendra Bhandari suffered from a Hamstring injury in the 37-km and could only finish fourth(2:33:14). The other armymen who finished in top ten were L/Cpl Rajan Khatri – 5th(2:39:47), L/Cpl Ram Kumar Khatri - 6th (2:42:01), L/Cpl Man Bahadur Thapa Magar -7th (2:42:20) and Cpl Tirtha Tamang -10th (2:45:55). In the womens category, Pte Melina Rai of TAC stood fifth with the timing of 4:17:30. Likewise, in 21 km half marathon, Armyman L/Cpl Kalyan Baniya finished first with timing of 1:14:08 while his teammates Cpl Raj Kumar Bista and Cpl Gyan Pd. Bhattarai stood second(1:14:09) and third(1:14:44 ) respectively. In the womens category, Pte Sarita Basi finished second with timing of 1:44:54. Similarly, Pte Lal bahadur Thapa and L.Cpl Moti Lal Chaudhari finished 2nd (16:28.09) and 3rd (16:45.42) in the mens’ 5-km while Pte. Rupa Khadka remained in third place (22:33.54) in the women category. The 5-km School category was won by Sangita Khadka from the Bijeswari School with timing of 21:34.10.